The Hour Long Cup Of Tea

It took me an hour to make a cup of tea.  I wish I was kidding.  Remember the tea pot I bought at a yard sale?



It was a rainy, gloomy day.  I had a chill that I couldn’t get rid of so I thought a cup of tea would help.  I figured now would be as good a time as any to see if my vintage whistling hot pot works.  I gave it a thorough cleaning, and then I realized this:

 
Do you see that?  Right under the pot on the countertop?  Yea…that’s a leak.  Imagine me whispering expletives under my breath when I saw the puddle.  So after some inspection, I realized that the part where the wire plugs into the pot comes apart.
 
 

 I took everything apart and gave it a good cleaning again.  I screwed everything back in and filled the pot up with water again.  Still leaking…Ugh… This time I brought out tools.  Yes, tools.  Apparently when I want to make a cup of tea I need tools.  So with a screwdriver I tightened everything…again.  This time, only one prong was leaking.  Finally I brought out the big guns.


I had a tiny tube of E6000 that I bought for my wedding.  I put a little glue on the prong that was leaking.  I let it sit for 20 min and filled up the pot with water again.


Success!  I was finally able to have my cup of tea.  The pot itself says “Whistling Hot Pot” so I plugged it in and waited for it to whistle.  It never whistled.  {sigh}  You can’t have everything right?  At least the water boiled up.  And you know what?  When I unplugged the wire after it cooled, the other prong was leaking.  I guess I’ll deal with that when I want another cup of tea.  Or I can just use my kettle.  Less of a headache.


Leave a Reply

