A Place For My Earrings

Remember Phase 1 of my jewelry organization?  I knew this would be a temporary solution until I figure out what I wanted to do for the long run (or at least until it’s no longer a practical solution).  I also knew I wanted  to display everything as opposed to having it put away where I can’t see what I have.  You know, out of site out of mind?

One thing I wanted to manage better were my earrings, because I wore those the most.  I had a few ideas in mind, but Jen from I Heart Organizing hit the nail on the head for me.  Full speed ahead.

source

(btw, you can spend HOURS looking through her fabulous blog…dare I say my organizational idol?) Although she used her frame for all her earrings, I wanted to focus on my studs.  So I modified things a little bit.  I also didn’t have a wall (or an awesome dressing room) to hang up a frame or two like she did, so whatever I wanted to do had to be a table top solution.

Then a light bulb went off.  I remember seeing this frame on Pinterest, but being used as table numbers for weddings.  I knew this would be the perfect solution for the earring studs.

source

Then I went to Home Depot to get a radiator grate.  They only had a small sheet so I got that.  An employee told me I can get it cut at the tool rental center.  So that’s what I did.

After it was cut to size, it was just as simple as inserting the grate into the slot where the pictures should go.  Then I just added my studs and a few hook earrings to the grate.  All of my bigger earrings are going somewhere else.  Here she is in all her glory.

Makes me want to get more studs.  Earring studs, not the male version.  Hubs wouldn’t like coming home to that.  Just saying…

So after doing a little math, and going back to get the rest of the grate cut to size, this DIY earring stud holder only cost me about $3.50.  Not bad huh?  I cut the rest of the grate to specifically fit this frame because I knew I wouldn’t use it for anything else but that.  I could get more frames and purchase some stud earrings and gift it for a girlfriend.  Bam.  Super simple and inexpensive gift.

So is there anyone else as obsessed with Jen at I Heart Organizing?  Obsessed is a strong word, don’t want to come off as a stalker or anything…maybe a main source for organizational ideas?  That sounds better 🙂

Leave a Reply

