A Jewelry Box Face Lift

I know this was a long time ago, but remember my Instagram Friday Double Feature?  While at the Flea Market I picked up a few things.  One in particular is this pretty musical jewelry box for $2.  You read that right.

 

 I’m sure you can figure out from the pic above what I was about to do.  I wanted a pretty and bright color so while at Michael’s a few weeks back I saw that they were having a sale on their spray paints so I only spent $4.  Win Win for me.  I picked up this pretty turquoise color.

After removing and/or taping the hardware and wiping it down with a wet rag, I gave it a few light coats and was left with this:

It was ok, but the pretty detail on the box was sort of lost with the new color.  So I tried my hand at painting it with a thin brush.  It took a lot of time, but it was therapeutic for me.  I chose to mix a combination of three shades of pink:

I had these colors on hand already so I didn’t have to go out again.  After a couple of hours, it now looks like this:

I liked the gold feet and handles so I left it as is.  I also fixed the musical portion of the box.  It wasn’t working when I initially bought it.  I currently have it sitting on my dresser next to the earring holder I made.

Not bad for a $6 makeover.  Now of course I can’t leave well enough alone, so I’m thinking about giving the whole box and light layer of stain to antique (in my world, I use antique as a verb) it up a bit.  We’ll see if I actually do it.

Leave a Reply

