Crayon Recycle

So this week is my last week of Summer Session.  As a little parting gift for my kiddos, I thought it would be fun to recycle all of the old crayons that we used through out the year.  I saw a few tutorials on Pinterest, and they seems about the same.  Use low temperature in the oven, and, from what I’m understanding, depending on how small the crayons are to begin with, it should be pretty quick.  This is my bucket of old crayons.

First thing is to peel all the paper from the crayons.  I had my favorite guy helping me.

I then broke up the crayons into small pieces and put them in a lined cupcake pan.

I put the tray in the oven for 250 for about 15 min.  Since some of the pieces were bigger than others, not all of them melted so I kept checking on them every 5-10 minutes or so.  Once they were all melted, I just let them cool down.

After they cooled some, I actually put the entire tray in the freezer so it could fully harden.  To give it that special touch, I put the new crayons in clear bags and made a cute little label.

I had to finish at work so this was my phone camera pic…and by “I” I mean one of my paras finished them

Not bad for my first attempt at recycling crayons.  I definitely learned a lot doing this and how to improve on my crayon recycling.  Hopefully the kids love them as much as I do.  And that they have a fun and restful three weeks off before we do this all over again in September.

Leave a Reply

