Come Sail Away With Me

I am invited to a baby shower.  Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it but I did prepare a gift basket.  What I tend to do is look at the registry and create something based on the theme of the crib set that mommy chose, this time being nautical.  Whales, sailboats, and anchors.  Below I’ll explain in greater detail my hand made gifts.  Get ready for super cuteness overload.

IMG_0210

The basket is a laundry basket that I had and cleaned it out really good so mommy can use.  Inside is a puff quilt, some pillows, a crate with books and toys, and two outfits.

For the puff quilt I used this tutorial.  I was totally inspired from the shop owner’s blog and felt confident that I could do it myself.  I have to say, for my first time ever doing a quilt I think it came out really good.  With the left over fabric I made pillows that mommy could put on her chair during night time feedings.

IMG_0164

This little crate was really fun to make.  Here are the materials I bought.

IMG_0143

I bought a wooden crate, a yard of rope, and block letters.  Everything was purchased from Joann’s.  I don’t remember the exact number, but I definitely paid under $20 for everything.  Paint and stain I already had.  First I had my father in law drill two holes into the sides of the crate.

IMG_0148

I painted the inside first with the lighter blue and once that was dry, I painted the outside in the dark blue.  Craft Smart brand in Pale Blue and Americana brand in Deep Midnight Blue in case anyone is interested.

IMG_0159

excuse my computer in the background…

 While the crate was drying, I stained the top of the block letters in Dark Walnut.  I let that dry a couple of hours and painted the rest of the blocks.  I didn’t have the shade of yellow I wanted so I experimented with what I had on hand.  I ended up using Craft Smart brand in Mustard Yellow and Apple Barrel brand in Canary Yellow.

IMG_0162

I let everything dry overnight and sprayed a poly finish to seal everything.  It’s not necessary, but it gives it a nice finish and makes it easy for mom to wipe it down.

264985_0912_SPC_12oz_TripleThickGlaze_L

source

To attach the blocks to the crate I just used wood glue.  Finally I cut the rope in half and knotted them through the holes on the crate to make handles on each side.  Tip: when cutting the rope, keep the ends together with a piece of tape so it doesn’t fray.

IMG_0188

IMG_0190

The fun part was filling it up with a few toys, books, and clothes.

IMG_0203

Then I just put everything in the laundry basket.

IMG_0213

IMG_0215

I hope mommy loves everything as much as I loved making it.  Has anyone made any good gift baskets recently?  Or received one?  Lots of my friends area either getting married or having babies so I’m excited to create more gift baskets for them.

Leave a Reply

